Me, Myself and Toronto

“When the traveler goes alone she gets acquainted with herself.” — Liberty Hyde Bailey

CN
The CN Tower in Toronto, Ontario

2017 has been my breakthrough year. I accomplished 90% of the goals I sat out to and there’s still time to accomplish my last one. My big take-away from this year is, greatness comes from outside of your comfort zone. This past week was no exception.

You constantly read blogs and see on social media the promotion of traveling alone. The main reason is because it’s said to be an amazing self-experience. However, traveling alone was never something that interest me. Not only did this idea scare me, but because I tend to enjoy experiences more when I am with the people I love.

But life is unpredictable.

Since starting my job in September, I knew a trip to Toronto for training was in my near future. My supervisor made it very clear that it was an imperative part of the onboarding process. Yet the thought of going on this trip lingered an unpleasant feeling. All my brain could process every time I thought about the trip was, how I never been on an airplane, how I never been out of the country, and how I never traveled alone.

In life sometimes, you have to do things that you may not want to. Taking this trip was important for my job, so I had to do what was necessary to keep improving professionally. After I got my passport, the trip was booked. I could no longer keep those worrying thoughts inside my head. I pushed them aside and started thinking positive. The day before my flight, I brought a new luggage, packed, and did some research on Canada.

It was 5am when I arrived at the airport for my 6am departure flight. The check-in agent told me I was late and that I may have to wait for the next flight which wasn’t leaving till 12pm. I immediately panicked because I had a training from 10am-12pm that I couldn’t miss. He gave me my boarding pass and I ran through the airport like a madwoman.

Luckily, I made it on the plane. Once I was seated, I took a deep breath and prepared myself for my first plane ride. I avoided looking out the window the entire hour flight. When the plane landed, my body ached from how tense I sat. I got my luggage from baggage claim, went to currency exchange, and got in a taxi.

In the taxi, I texted my family to ensure them I was safe. The entire ride, I glanced out the window. No doubt it was a cloudy day, but the city’s beauty still shined through. The taxi took me to my job and I braced myself to make a great first-impression on my Toronto co-workers.

Despite I was apprehensive about the entire trip, it will forever be an experience I will be grateful for. The beauty of the city, the kindness of the people, walking around the city at night, the interesting restaurants, and the intense training I received will all be remembered. On the plane back home, I glared out the window the entire time and the rest is history.

I can’t say I am booking my next solo trip any time soon, but I can say I learned something very awesome about myself. I am BRAVE. All the uncomfortable things I encountered, I stood up to them. The fear of traveling solo is real, but so is overcoming it!

Me

I would love to hear all your cool stories about traveling solo in the comments.

XO

Katherine

 

34 Comments Add yours

  1. SarahGuiler says:

    Traveling alone can be a scary experience, especially when you’re going for work and there’s even more pressure. It sounds like you’ve overcome your fears and did a great job! I prefer traveling with someone else such as my husband, but I’ve traveled alone more than once now and it can be a fun experience at times just exploring new places.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sarah! I suppose I’ll get use to it the more I do it.

      Like

  2. Adjust The Focus says:

    Before reading this I couldn’t imagine myself or anyone traveling alone it seems so petrifying but after reading on how you overcame your fear I now believe that when I am ready to pack up and see the world I can explore with or without anyone else!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ashley! Glad I could be a source of help

      Like

      1. Adjust The Focus says:

        You’re very welcome!

        Like

  3. Tyrell says:

    You never seem to disappoint me I love you 😘😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chrisy says:

    This was a very easy to read, the pics make the place inviting and someone I hope to visit one day. I’m sure going alone wasn’t the best but sometimes it’s nice to have alone time

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading!

      Like

  5. nsalama1 says:

    Glad you had a nice time! Toronto is my home town and it’s a great place to live. Hope you come back soon.

    Nicole | The Professional Mom Project

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved it! Thank you for reading.

      Like

  6. redjackstock says:

    I really want to travel solo too, but it is definitely scary! Probably the best way to learn to travel though, and then you have total freedom to go wherever, whenever. That would be amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing!

      Like

  7. Ethne Tierney says:

    I love this post! I feel so related to this post and it’s so well written, well done! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post!! Really cool that you get to travel to such a great place for work…. glad you had a good trip even though travelling alone can be scary!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You’re so brave! Travelling alone is such an amazing experience

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The post is a lovely read . The solo travelling were days i travelled outside the state to leave for school. I had loads of interesting and not too interesting experience but th memories are lovely on days to come.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much and thanks for sharing!

      Like

      1. You can check out my post too

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Already did. Awesome content.

        Like

  11. Sarah says:

    I have had to travel solo before, and the thing I find the strangest is having dinner by yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I definitely agree with that. Thanks for reading.

      Like

  12. Wonderful pictures and hope you had great time travelling. Achieving goals is really awesome. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Good you did it..me too before I was scared to travel solo until I experienced one time that I need to travel alone overseas, from then I’m no longer scared to travel alone, I believe I’m secured because God is with me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing. I could see myself doing it again!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Irina says:

    I love the pictures! I hope to go to Toronto someday:)

    irinathayer.com

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ayesha says:

    So glad you did it! Traveling alone can be both scary and liberating but once you do it the world becomes a little bit smaller and less frightening. I personally love traveling alone. I’ve gone to Germany, Spain, and different cities in the US solo and I learned soo much about myself and humanity in a way that wouldn’t have been possible without that vulnerability of being alone with myself. I did meet with friends at certain points, which is a good way to balance it out. I’m glad you enjoyed the trip! I hope you’ll try it again sometime and thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ayesha for reading, sharing and your kind words. You’re super brave for traveling alone routinely. Based on your comments, I think it’s worth it and I think I will someday!

      Like

Leave a comment